Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Council Meets In Hawkes Bay …

The Executive Board of the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council met for his semi-annual Special General Meeting in Napier on Monday. Chaired by the President, Grant Gilbert, the meeting was held at Napier Boys’ High School, where the annual Hurricanes Under 18 Camp for boys is currently being taking place.

On the weekend, players attending the Camp will travel to Taupo for a new exchange to be played against Under 18 representatives from the Blues franchise region.

(The Hurricanes Under 18 Camp Is Underway At Napier Boys' High School)

At Wednesday’s Special General Meeting, representatives from the eight Provincial Unions comprising the Hurricanes Region (East Coast, Poverty Bay, Hawkes Bay, Wairarapa-Bush, Wellington, Manawatu, Horowhenua-Kapiti and Wanganui), confirmed the Council’s programmes and Tournaments for the remainder of 2018 and discussed opportunities for future programme development.

Full details of the Council’s 2018 programme can be viewed on this web-site.

(Published : 12/07/18)




Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372