Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Council Names Strong Line-Up For Central Region Shield

Following the final matches in the 2019 Under 20 Development Series in Palmerston North today, the Council's Selectors named a strong line-up to compete in the Central Region Shield Tournament which kicks-off next weekend.

The players selected are:

Ngati Porou East Coast RFU

Tipene Meihana.

Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU

Dallas Wiki; Poleka Itielu; Moses Pearce; Josh Rauhihi; Arana Murphy; Shae Gray; Toroa Rapana; Xavier Pereka; Sean Pape.

Poverty Bay RFU

Ethan Brett; Ofa Tauatuvalu; Chase Sheridan.

Wairarapa-Bush RFU

Stan Wright; Lewis Bush; Zac Wakefield; Raniera Petersen; Joe Gordon.

Wanganui RFU

Kohlt Coveny; Josefa Rokotakala; Jason Myers; Lamaire Meunier; Jack O'Leary.

The team will be captained by Xavier Pereka from Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU.

The team will play three matches in the Central Region Shield, commencing this coming Saturday, against Hawkes Bay RFU, at Palmerston North. The team's second match will be played at Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Friday, 23 August as the Curtain-Raiser to the Mitre 10 Cup match, with the third game to be played in Palmerston North the following weekend.

(Published : 11/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279