Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Council Awards Three New Life Memberships

At a Special General Meeting held in Napier on 10 July, the Council’s Executive Board awarded Life Memberships to Haig Elgar, Tony Bedford and Jono Phillips. Life Members are the Council's "kaumatua", with life membership awarded for outstanding service rendered to the Council.

(Tony Bedford, Haig Elgar and Jono Phillips - new Council Life Members)

Haig Elgar, as CEO of the Wanganui Rugby Union in 2004, was initially involved with the Central Region JAB (Junior Advisory Board), later to become the Hurricanes JAB. Haig was instrumental in forming the Council through the amalgamation of the JAB and the Secondary Schools Council.

He played an important role in the drawing-up of the original Constitution and Rules and Regulations governing the Tournaments, Coaching School and teams which were to come under the authority of the new body. Haig was the Youth Council’s first Treasurer until his resignation from the Wanganui Rugby Union and the Youth Council in 2008.

Tony Bedford, during his time as Manager of the Hurricanes team and later as Operations Manager of the Hurricanes, encouraged the formation of the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council. He played a key role in uniting the Provincial Unions within the region, promotion of the organisation and the development of elite players to go on and play for the Hurricanes and the All Blacks.

His support was total, by attending Council Meetings and the Coaching School, Provincial Under 18 Secondary Schools Tournament and Regional Under 18 team and by sharing his wealth of knowledge. In a more practical way he promoted the Council within the franchise and saw that the resources of the franchise were available to meet the Council’s needs, wherever possible.

Jono Phillips, following his appointment as Hurricanes Academy Manager, set about working tirelessly with the Coaches and Rugby Development Officers in the Provincial Unions within the franchise region to build a "Hurricanes Family Culture". He worked closely, co-operatively and productively with College coaches at the school, union and at regional levels.

In his role as Academy Manager, Jono actively encouraged the support of the Hurricanes Board for the newly formed Hurricanes Schools Council, in establishing the Operations Committee in 2008. Jono laid the foundations for the manner in which the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council works to promote rugby at the teenage level today and the recognition of talented players.

The Council extends its warm congratulations to its newest Life Members.

(Published : 10 July 2019)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279