Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Council Approves 2020 Life Members Cup Competition

Following approval at today’s SGM, the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Inc. is now inviting eligible secondary schools within the Hurricanes region to enter a one-off boys’ competition (consequent to the COVID-19 crisis), for the "Hurricanes Life Members Cup".

Each member Provincial Union is responsible for determining its team to compete in this knock-out competition, with four Wild-Card entries to be selected by the Council's Operations Committee from entries received by Provincial Unions.

The "Hurricanes Life Members Cup" celebrates the important role that boys’ secondary school rugby plays in encouraging community participation by school-leavers across the many Clubs comprising the Hurricanes region.

The intent of the Cup is to promote rugby within our Heartland and non-traditional rugby schools. Provincial Unions when selecting their representative will be mindful of this intent.

By Thursday 30th July Provincial Unions will be required to confirm their nomination and advise their wish to have a Wild-Card entry. On Friday 31st July (the end of week 2 of term 3), a draw will be confirmed and circulated to those Provincial Unions and schools involved.

First round matches are expected to be played by 13th August, (schools should be available to play on the 5th and or 12th August). Where possible another mid-week date between 5th and 12th August may be negotiated.

The second round of matches, (comprising the 6 remaining teams) will be drawn on the 14th of August and fixtures will need to be played by 27th August, (the end of week 6). Semi-Finals will consist of the three winners and the best-losing team.

The Semi-Final games are set for Wednesday 2nd of September (week 7), with the Grant Final to be played on Wednesday 9th September, or a date agreeable to the two finalists.

(Lindisfarne College were the inaugural Life Members Cup winners, in 2019)

(Published : 12/07/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279