Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Battle For The Central Region Shield In Round 3

The winner of the Central Region Shield (for the Hurricanes Under 19 Tournament) will be determined next weekend in Palmerston North, following the second consecutive wins for Manawatu and Wellington on Saturday afternoon.

With both teams on equal Tournament Points after two rounds, Manawatu has the superior Points Differential meaning they will host the current Shield holders, Wellington, in a fixture which will also determine who attains Top Ranking for the National Under 19 Tournament from the Hurricanes Region.

The Central Region Shield (currently held by Wellington) was donated by Hawkes Bay Rugby Legend, Peter Loomes, who died in 2014. Loomes coached 13 Hurricanes teams at the U16 and U18 level to Championship Titles, before becoming a Hurricanes Age-Group Selector. He was also a member of the Hawkes Bay Rugby Referees Association.

(Peter Loomes and the Shield he donated to the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council)

On Saturday, Wellington consigned Hawkes Bay to the Championship (Bottom 8) section of the National Under 19 Tournament with a scratchy 38 points to 3 win at the Petone Recreation Ground in Wellington. Meanwhile, Manawatu defeated the Hurricanes Barbarians by 91 points to 5 in Palmerston North.

At the Petone Recreation Ground, the game was only alive in the first 10 minutes and the last 10 minutes of the match. In between there were too many mistakes for the game to gain any momentum as both sides made too many errors.

Losi Filipo for Wellington showed his pace and troubled the Hawkes Bay defence on numerous occasions. Wellington pulled away in the last 10 minutes to build on their halftime lead of 14-3.

Wellington 38 (L Harmon 2, L Filipo 2, K Hauiti-Parapara, W Fine tries; S Fox 4 conversions).

Hawkes Bay 3.

(Published : 04/09/16)




Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279