Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Bush Pip Nua By One Point To Win Maiden Title

For the first time in 12 years, Wairarapa-Bush will have their name engraved on the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup, following a thrilling one-point win against defending champions Horowhenua-Kapiti at Palmerston North's Sport & Rugby Institute today.

After leading by 16 points to 5 at half-time, a second-half resurgence by Horowhenua-Kapiti saw the score narrow to one-point, 23 points to 22 with five minutes to play. A Horowhenua-Kapiti foot on the touch-line as the desparate Cup-Holders looked to score the winning try, was enough to ensure that the narrow one-point margin was maintained until the full-time whistle.

(Horowhenua-Kapiti's Xavier Pareka presents the Cup to Wairarapa-Bush's Lewis Bush)

The Player-Of-The-Series pictured above receiving the MVP Cup from Council Chairman, Gordon Noble-Canpbell was Jason Myers from Wanganui. The final table for the Series was: 1. Wairarapa-Bush; 2. Horowhenua-Kapiti; 3. Wanganui; 4. Poverty Bay.

The Council extends its thanks to the staff and management of the Sport & Rugby Institute for their support of the 2019 Hurricanes Under 20 Development Series.

(Published : 11/08/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279