Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

5th Annual Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens On Saturday

Whatever the outcome on Saturday, there will be two new Secondary School Champions crowned at the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Tournament, which will be played at Trust House Memorial Park in Masterton, for the second consecutive year.

Defending champions Hastings Boys High School and Manukura College have not entered teams into this year’s Tournament, meaning that two new names will be engraved on the two Tournament Trophies for 2018.

A 10 team Boys Division and a 4 team Girls Division will take the field on Saturday, representing secondary schools from the Hawkes Bay, Manawatu, Wairarapa and Wellington Provincial Unions. The first Tournament matches kick-off at 10.00am, with the Girls Division Final at 3.20pm and the Boys Division Final at 3.40pm.

Many aspiring players from the Tournament have gone on to represent their Provincial Unions in Sevens, including: Danny Toala (Hawkes Bay); Billy Proctor (Wellington); Kini Naholo (Taranaki); Sam Smith (Wairarapa-Bush); Georgia Ponsonby (Manawatu); Mikayla Callaghan (Taranaki); and Hana Wainohu (Manawatu).

(Hana Wainohu in action for Manawatu, against Wellington)

You can see the full Tournament Draw, by clicking here.

Following are the previous Tournament Champions.

Boys Champion : Hastings Boys High School
Girls Champion : Manukura College

Boys Champion : Hastings Boys High School
Girls Champion : New Plymouth Girls High School

Boys Champion : Hastings Boys High School
Girls Champion : Feilding High School

Boys Champion : Scots College
Girls Champion : New Plymouth Girls High School

(Published : 08/10/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279