Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

57 Players Selected To Attend Annual Hurricanes Camp

57 players from the weight Provincial Unions representing the Hurricanes region have been selected to attend this year’s Hurricanes Regional U17 Coaching Camp at the home of the Hurricanes in Wellington, on Sunday December 11th, 2017.

The core rugby components of the one-day Camp are based on: the “Pathway Forward”; Nutrition; Mental Skills and Physical Conditioning, as part of providing an insight to the world of professional rugby. Included among the presenters for the day are Matt Sexton from New Zealand Rugby, Chris Stirling from the Hurricanes, together with other subject matter specialists in the areas noted above.

The players selected are as follows:

East Coast: William Martin.

Hawkes Bay: Jayden Walker, Jacob Ward, Julian Goerke, Emil Chrichton, Sam Henderson, Ngiyaani Walters, Angus Kilmister, Charlie Varcoe, Henry Williams, Tama Dunn, Andrew Hayward, Jordan Thompson-Dunn, Blaze Taylor,  Jayden Stok, Connor Wadley.    

Horowhenua-Kapiti: Louis Northcott, Taine Hata, Zane Ainslie, Henry Fonoti.

Manawatu: Joseph Gavigan, Javiah Wharerau, Mark Coogan, Te Kamaka (TK) Howden, Trevor-Shane Baker, Tamati Ruawai, Nikora Broughton, Potene Rolls-Paewai, Josh Maoate, William Treder, Toroa Rapana, Ruben Love. 

Poverty Bay: Jordan McFarlane-Rofe, Dylan Hall, Campbell Hall, Braedyn Grant.

Wairarapa Bush: Thomas Rall, Logan Prendeville, Lucas Megaw.

Wanganui: Tyreece Adams, Ollie Tama, Sam Sherriff, Falesau Tauailoto, Logan Henry.

Wellington: Geordie Bean, Samson Alaimoana, Ridge Studd, Jeremiah Tuiatua, Scott Svenson, Roderick Solo, Ropati So'oalo, Esera Andrews, Ethan Webster-Nonu, Cassius Misa, Maui Wallace, Rocco Berry, Sage Shaw-Tate.

Congratulations to all those selected!

(Published : 10/11/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279