Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

2022 Under 16 Tournament Named After Successful Week Of Rugby

The following 22 players have been named by Rick Whatarau (Head Selector, of the nine-member Provincial Union selection team), as the Tournament Team for the 2022 Under 16 Tournament held this week at the New Zealand Campus of Innovation and Sport, in Upper Hutt.

The team is (in alphabetical surname order):

BARHAM Ollie Hawkes Bay RFU
BERG-MCLEAN Drew Wellington RFU
BURNS Jade Wellington RFU
CROSSWELL Ryder Manawatu RFU
EASTON Billy Manawatu RFU
FALLON Johnny Wairarapa Bush RFU
FEPULEAI Semurama Wellington RFU
FURNELL Cooper Manawatu RFU
HIHI Puna Poverty Bay RFU
KIDBY Blake Manawatu RFU
MASIRI Daniel Manawatu RFU
MEO Rauri Wellington RFU
QARANIVALU Isireli Hawkes Bay RFU
RILEY Jack Wellington RFU
SALANOA Misi Hawkes Bay RFU
SCHAAF Richard Manawatu RFU
SOI Braydon Wellington RFU
SOTO Kane Poverty Bay RFU
SUA Nehemiah Manawatu RFU
SYMONDS Jaziah Manawatu RFU
THOMAS Troy Hawkes Bay RFU

(Published: 06/10/22)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279