Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Hurricanes Under 20 Cup Kicks-Off On Saturday, 31 July

The Hurricanes Under 20 Cup for Heartland Provincial Union teams kicks-off on Saturday, 31 July with Poverty Bay to play Wairarapa-Bush in Napier and Horowhenua-Kapiti to host Whanganui in Levin. Last competed for in 2019, Wairarapa-Bush are the current holders of the Cup, winning the competition for the first time in 12 years before COVID foiled their title defence in 2020.

The competition continues (and concludes) with double-header fixtures being played at the Sport & Rugby Institute in Palmerston North on 7 and 8 August. At the conclusion of the competition, Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 team Head Coach Darren Larsen will name his selection to compete for the "Central Region Shield" against Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington.

(Published : 18/07/21)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279