Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

2020 "Rex Kerr Cup" Entries Now Open

Any eligible secondary school wishing to enter their girls 1XV team in the Council's 2020 "Rex Kerr Cup" competition, must do so no later than Monday, 27 July, by contacting your Provincial Union Council representative and the Competition Administrator, Nick Reid (see below for contact details).

Both the New Zealand Secondary Schools Sport Council eligibility rules the relevant New Zealand Schools' Rugby Union age-band policies apply. Teams are invited to apply to the Competition Administrator for a dispensation to the eligibility rules. While a Draw (below) has been developed, given the challenges we face in 2020, the Council will endeavour to follow these key timelines.

In addition the Council advises that in 2020 "Combined Schools" are permitted entry to the Competition. For the purposes of this Competition, a "Combined School" is one playing as such in their local competition. Please note that newly combined teams for this Competition are not permitted.

Monday, 27 July : competition entries close

By Friday, 21 August : local and regional matches should be completed, (if required)

By Friday, 4 September : Semi-Finals should be completed

By Friday, 18 September : Final to be played.

Semi-Finalists will be drawn from the following regional-based Provincial Unions : 

1. Wanganui & Manawatu
2. East Coast, Poverty Bay & Hawkes Bay
3. Wairarapa-Bush & Horowhenua-Kapiti
4. Wellington 

A school's "Provincial Union" is determined by where the players' registration is recorded. In 2020, where a Provincial Union may not be able (or wish) to enter a team, it may be replaced by a team from another Provincial Union.

In 2020, the Semi-Final draw will be:

- East Coast/Poverty Bay/Hawkes Bay Qualifier vs Wellington Qualifier
- Wanganui/Manawatu Qualifier vs Wairarapa-Bush/Horowhenua-Kapiti Qualifier

The team named first is the Host of the Semi-Final match.

Competition Administrator: Nick Reid: 027 244

(Published : 21/07/20)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372