Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

2019 Council Referee Squad Selected

The following Referees have been selected for the 2019 Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Referee Squad. Appointments to fixtures, which will cover fixtures in both the inter-provincial and secondary school programmes, will be completed by the selectors, Brian Robertson, Alan Mettrick and Bernie McLaughlin.

Manawatu RRA
Ben Koch, Jacob Booth, Matthew McEwen

Poverty Bay RRA
Oliver Holst

Wairarapa-Bush RRA
Kaleb Rowlands

Wanganui RRA
Aaron Conlon

Wellington RRA
Jack Sargentina, Ryan McLean

Hawkes Bay RRA
Cara Hall (Reserve)

(Poverty Bay's Ollie Hurst, a member of the 2019 Referee Squad)

The Council congratulates all of the above on their appointment to the 2019 Referees Squad

(Published : 20/06/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Matt Taylor

027 509 6727