Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

23 Players Selected For Hurricanes Youth Council Under 18 Team

The following players have been selected in the 2019 Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Under 18 team.

Jeremiah Tuitaua, Hastings BHS, Hawkes Bay RFU

Joeli Rauca, Hastings BHS, Hawkes Bay RFU

Jordan Thompson-Dunn, Hastings BHS, Hawkes Bay RFU

Julian Goerke, Hastings BHS, Hawkes Bay RFU

Latrell Ah-Kiong, Hastings BHS, Hawkes Bay RFU

Frank Lochore, Napier BHS, Hawkes Bay RFU

Jayden Walker, Napier BHS, Hawkes Bay RFU

Treyah Kingi-Taukamo, St Kentigern's College, Hawkes Bay RFU

Hugh Taylor, Wairoa College, Hawkes Bay RFU

Moape Rokosuka, Feilding High School, Manawatu RFU

TK Howden, Feilding High School, Manawatu RFU

Joseph Gavigan, Manukura, Manawatu RFU

Chance Malu, Palmerston North BHS, Manawatu RFU

Ben Strang, Whanganui Collegiate, Wanganui RFU

Ropati So'oalo, Aotea College, Wellington RFU

Harrison Press, HIBS, Wellington RFU

Jabez Peniata, Porirua College, Wellington RFU

Blake Rogers, Scots College, Wellington RFU

Ethan Webster-Nonu, Scots College, Wellington RFU

Isaac Salio, Scots College, Wellington RFU

Oryaan Kalolo, Scots College, Wellington RFU

Rodderick Solo, Scots College, Wellington RFU

Sione Halalilo, Scots College, Wellington RFU

The team will play a Blues Under 18 selection at Owen Delaney Park, Taupo, at 1.30pm on Sunday, 14 July.

(Published : 12/07/19)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372