Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Spring Conditions Create Spectacular Rugby In Palmerston North

As much of the country enjoyed an early taste of spring, the Hurricanes Under 20 Development Series culminated in four spectacular games played in excellent conditions on Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning in Palmerston North.

While defending three-peat champions, Wanganui, who've won the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup on seven earlier occasions, set the early pace in the competition, it was Horowhenua-Kapiti who went through the Series undefeated, winning the Cup for only the second time in its 11 year history, accruing 113 points over three games and conceding only 47.

Sean Pape from Horowhenua-Kapiti was named Player of the Series and was rewarded with selection in the 23 man squad to play in the Central Region Shield over the next three weeks.

The scores from the Series can found on the Points Table tab of this web-site.

The Council's thanks is extended to the Series Match Officials and in particular to the Manawatu Rugby Referee's Association who provided Assistant Referees over the course of the weekend. Thanks is also extended to Massey University's Sport & Rugby Institute for their service over the weekend.

A thank you also to Council Life Member, Rex Kerr, for presenting the awards to the winning team and to Darren Larsen and his team of selectors for their work in selecting the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team for 2018. The Series was a great celebration of New Zealand Rugby.

(Published : 12/08/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372