Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Strong Line-Up Selected For Heartland Under 20 Team

At the conclusion of the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup Competition, the following players have been selected for the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team to play in the Central Region Shield Tournament against Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington.

Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU

Aholelei Katoa, Jordan Tupai-Ui, Moses Pearce, Sean Pape, Sione Lomu, Tredan Winterburn and Xavier Pareka.

Poverty Bay RFU

Ethan Brett and Gabe Te Kani.

Wairarapa-Bush RFU

Bryan Arnold, Finn Yeats, Isaac Bracewell, Jack Loader, Jeramiah Mapusua, Joseph Gordan, Lewis Bush, Matt Masoe, Moo Moo Falaniko and Sam Siaosi.

Wanganui RFU

Desmond Tyrell, Jason Myers, Kohlt Covney and Shaquille Waara.

(The 2018 Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team)

The Head Coach of the team is Darren Larsen (Hurricanes), supported by Dan Cron (Hurricanes), Tane Tu'ipulotu (Hurricane #112, Hurricanes Resource Coach) and Resource Coach, Richard Watt (Hurricanes). The team will be managed Whanganui's Chris Back and Darrell Robinson.

The team's first game is against Manawatu Under 19 next Saturday, 18 August.

(Published : 12/08/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372