Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

Wellington and Hawkes Bay 2017 Under 16 Trophy Winners

Wellington A successfully defended the Don Broughton Shield, with a gutsy 31 points to 16 win over Hawkes Bay A, in Division A of the 2017 Hurricanes Under 16 Tournament.

Mid-way through the second-half, the score was 19-16 in favour of the defending champions, but two late tries were enough to secure victory in a match played in wet but firm conditions.

In Division B, Wellington Development held off a stern challenge from Hawkes Bay Development in the second-half to win their Final for the Saracens Cup by 27 points to 12.

Wellington Development started strongly, but were unable to score any points in the second-half, while Hawkes Bay Development consistently attacked the Wellington goal-line.

The Manaaki Tāngata Trophy for 2017 was awarded to Hawkes Bay.

The trophy, donated by Poverty Bay, reinforces the bond that the Hurricanes Provincial Unions share and is presented to the Tournament Team that best demonstrates the loyalty, team spirit and commitment which is central to that bond.

Congratulations to our 2017 Trophy Winners.

Photos courtesy of Dave Brownlie (

(Published : 05/10/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279