Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

One New And One Defending Champion At Hurricanes Schools Sevens

For the first time in the history of the championship, Manawatu's Manukura College were crowned champions of the Hurricanes Secondary School Sevens Tournament, held at Trust House Memorial Park in Masterton on Saturday.

In the Boys’ Division, defending champions, Hastings Boys’ High School, were given a fright by local team Wairarapa College in the Cup Final, before going on to successfully defend their title to win the championship for the fourth consecutive year.

Two Tournament Teams were named, as follows:

Girls’ Division: Renee Karaitiana (Nga Wahine College); Milly Mackey (Wairarapa Barbarians); Paris Paul (Manukura College); Kelly Cook (Manukura College); Courtney Walsh (St. Peter’s College); Maia Wairaiki (Manukura College); Janie Grevatt (Wairarapa College).

Boys’ Division: Devon Flanders (Hastings Boys’ High School); Jason Tuitama (Rongotai College); Nikora Broughton (Hato Paora College); Misi Faimalo (Wellington Barbarians, St. Patrick’s College, Wellington); Lincoln McClutchie (Hastings Boys’ High School); Sam Smith (Wairarapa College); Danny Toala (Hastings Boys’ High School).

(Published : 29/10/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279