Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

15 Selected For 2017 New Zealand Heartland Under 19 Team

15 Hurricanes region players have been selected for the 2017 Heartland Under 19 Team, to compete in the national Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament in September.

This number (nearly two-thirds of the total squad), is the largest group of players from the Hurricanes region to ever be selected in the history of this team, representing all five of the member Heartland Provincial Unions.

12 of the 15 players selected are from the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team which is currently playing in the Central Region Shield.

The players selected are:

East Coast RFU:

Fabyan Kahaki.

Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU:

Taina Keelan.

Poverty Bay RFU:

Ngahiwi Manuel.

Wairarapa-Bush RFU:

Ryan Hargood, Alec Hendricksen, Jack Loader, Bryan Arnold, Brad Griffith, Tristan Flutey.

Wanganui RFU:

Dylan Gallien, Hamish Bennett, Chris Breuer, Dylan Bowater, Gordon Coogan, Harry Symes.

Congratulations to all the players selected and to their Provinicial Unions.

(Published : 30/08/17)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279