Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Wellington And Hawkes Bay To Contest Under 16 Tournament Finals

Following today's matches, in both Division A and Division B, it will be Wellington (the defending champions) against the two Hawkes Bay teams to determine the Hurricanes Under 16 Champion Titles for 2017. (Results from Day 2 will be posted on Wednesday).

Manawatu will play Poverty Bay in the play-off for Third Place in Division A, while in Division B the Third Place for 2017 will be decided between Wanganui and Wairarapa-Bush.

The final match will be between East Coast and Horowhenua-Kapiti.

Since it was first played for in 1972, Hawkes Bay have won the Don Broughton Shield 21 times, Wellington 15 times, Manawatu 3 times, East Coast and Poverty Bay 2 times each while both Horowhenua and Taranaki only 1 time each.

Since the Saracens Cup was introduced in 2005 for Division B, Wellington Development have won the Cup 8 times and Poverty Bay 4 times.

All Finals will be played on Thursday, at Wanganui Collegiate.

(Published : 03/10/17)



Grant Gilbert

027 248 7426

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 140 6118

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Matt Taylor

027 509 6727