Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

14 Hurricanes Region Players Selected In NZ Heartland Under 19 Team

14 of the Hurricanes region Under 19 players (the same number as 2015), comprise over half of the 2016 Heartland Under 19 Team for 2016.

Congratulations to the following Provincial Unions and the players named below, for their selection.

East Coast: LEWIS Caleb.

Horowhenua-Kapiti: PAYTON Nathaniel.

Poverty Bay: KERR Ihaia; LASIKE Moala; LEACH Isaiah; and STUART Devonte.

Wanganui: BENNETT Hamish; GALLIEN Dylan; HAKARAIA Gabriel; KEMP Jessy; PARKINSON Todd; and ROBINSON Ethan.

Wairarapa-Bush: PRIEST Alexander; and ROKODUGUNI Pene.

Mark Rutene (Head Coach of the Hurricanes Under 19 Barbarians) has also been selected as Head Coach of the Heartland Under 19 Team.

The selections for this year continue to provide good support for the importance of the Council's Heartland Under 20 Development Series, which concluded last weekend.

The Under 19 Heartland Team will play in the Championship Division of the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament, which takes place in September.

(Published : 31/08/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372