Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

2016 Under 16 Competition Kicks-Off On Saturday 

This Saturday, the first round of matches in the 2016 Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Under 16 Tournament kick-off in Otaki, Waipukurau, Wairoa and Wellington.

This year, both Division A and Division B will play pre-Tournament matches as part of a new format which will see Finals played in both divisions on the last day of the Tournament, on Thursday 28 September in Palmerston North.

This Saturday, Wellington Development will host Wairarapa-Bush at the Petone Recreation Ground at 12.30pm,  Manawatu will play Wellington at the Rahui Rugby Football Club in Otaki at 1.00pm, Hawkes Bay and Poverty Bay will meet at 1.00pm in Wairoa and Horowhenua-Kapiti will play Hawkes Bay Development at 2.00pm in Waipukurau.

The full draw for the Tournament in Palmerston North which commences on Monday, 26 September can be found on the Fixtures Tab of this website.

(The Don Broughton Shield competed for in Division A)

(Published: 14/09/16)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Matt Taylor

027 509 6727