Annual Under 15 Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Tournament

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Heartland Provincial Unions, with one team from the Wellington Samoan Rugby Union, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield.

Annual Under 19 Seeding Tournament

This competition determines rankings for the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament and comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, with a Barbarians Team (comprising players from these three Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over three weeks in Palmerston North, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, played annually in Palmerston North.

Hurricanes Heartland Players Prominent In New Zealand Under 19 Team

13 of the 25 players named in the New Zealand Heartland Under 19 Team to compete at the Jock Hobbs Memorial Tournament in Taupo, come from the Hurricanes region, representing all five Provincial Unions comprising the region.

The Hurricanes region contributes five forwards and eight backs to the squad, with 5 players from Wairarapa-Bush, 4 players from Horowhenua-Kapiti, 2 players from Wanganui and 1 player each from East Coast and Poverty Bay.

The players selected are: Jeremiah Mapusua, (Wairarapa-Bush RFU); Matt Masoe, (Wairarapa-Bush RFU); Jason Myers (Wanganui RFU); Moses Pearce (Horowhenua Kapiti RFU); Xavier Pereka (Horowhenua Kapiti RFU); Bryan Arnold (Wairarapa-Bush RFU); Isaac Bracewell, (Wairarapa-Bush RFU); Joseph Gordon, (Wairarapa-Bush RFU); Connor Paki, (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU); Sean Pape, (Horowhenua-Kapiti RFU); Niao Savage (East Coast RFU); Winiata Tarawa, (Poverty Bay RFU); and Desmond Tyrell, (Wanganui RFU).

8 of the selected players are also members of the 2018 Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team.

(Published : 30/08/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279

Brad McLachlan

022 515 0372