Annual Under 15 Boys' Tournament

As part of Winter Tournament Week, the annual Under 15 Tournament comprises sixteen teams from secondary schools (on an invitational basis) who compete in a Cup and Plate section for the Rex Kerr Trophy.

Annual Under 16 Boys' Tournament

Every year in the third term school holidays, the Council holds New Zealand's premier tournament for Under 16 players, comprising teams from all member Provincial Unions, competing in two divisions for the Don Broughton Shield, the Saracens Cup and the Manaaki Tangata Trophy.

Annual Under 18 Boys' Competition

Every year in September, the Council holds a competition for Under 18 teams from member Provincial Unions, competing for the TrustBank Central Secondary Schools Shield first competed for in the 1990's.

Annual Under 19 Tournament

This competition comprises teams from Wellington, Hawkes Bay and Manawatu, and a Hurricanes Heartland Team (comprising players from the Council's member Heartland Provincial Unions), competing for the Central Region Shield on a home and away basis.

Annual Under 20 Heartland Development Series

Comprising teams from the regions Heartland Provincial Unions, the Heartland Development Series is held annually over two weeks, with teams competing for the Hurricanes Under 20 Cup.

Girls' Rugby Development Programmes

Every year, with the support of New Zealand Rugby, the Council provides Development Days, an Under 15 Tournament and an Under 18 Development Camp for young women within the Hurricanes Region.

Annual Hurricanes Sevens Tournament

The best secondary school Sevens players in the region (in Boys and Girls divisions) compete for the Hurricanes Secondary Schools Sevens Cup, hosted by Wairarapa-Bush.

13 Players Selected From Hurricanes Region Secondary Schools

13 of the 49 players selected for New Zealand secondary school boys teams in 2018, are from the Hurricanes region.

Representing 8 schools (4 from Wellington, 2 from Manawatu and 1 each from Hawkes Bay, and Wairarapa-Bush), the players selected for the New Zealand Schools team will travel to Brisbane, Australia for three matches against Tonga Schools, Australia Schools Barbarians and Australia Schools, while the players selected for the Barbarians team have two matches against New Zealand Maori Under 18s and Fiji Schools.

The players selected are:

New Zealand Schools
Iona Apineru - St Patrick's College, Silverstream
Josiah Maraku - Fielding Agricultural High School
Tyrone Thompson - Napier Boys' High School
Ethan Webster-Nonu - Scots College

New Zealand Schools Barbarians
Caleb Cavubati - Scots College
Stewart Cruden - Palmerston North Boys' High School
Josh Gimblett - Napier Boys' High School
Sam Smith - Wairarapa College
Roderick Solo - Scots College
Ropati So'oalo - Aotea College
Patrick Teddy - Napier Boys' High School
Junior Uelese - Scots College
Keelan Whitman - St Patrick's College, Wellington

(Published : 27/09/18)



Nick Reid

027 244 1672

Gordon Noble-Campbell

021 612 451

Cameron Hayton

021 418 835

David Fa'atafa

021 448 279